Premiership Rugby: HITZ Awards 2017

Wed, November 22, 2017

Fifteen nominess were invited along to the prestigious awards ceremony last night, hosted by David Flatman.

With an audience made up of sponsors, supports, nominees, families and staff across the twelve clubs, each nominee was introduced by a short video outlining their inspirational stories.

Creative Sport & Leisure work with Premiership Rugby to deliver the HITZ Programme across five of the twelve Premiership Rugby clubs, and were thrilled to be in attendance for the evening hosted at the BT Centre, in the City of London.

Congratulations to all of the nominees for their outstanding journeys both within and outside of the HITZ education and employability programme.


Selected from a broad range of achievement, all details of awards and nominations below:

Community Impact Award

Presented by John Gibson, Wodden Spoon and Phil Vickery, former Wasps and Gloucester player.


  • Maddi Eager, Gloucester Rugby
  • Lewis Cox, London Irish
  • Stanna Shaylor, Wasps

Awarded to Maddi Eager, for her work with Gloucester Rugby, recently supporting their efforts at the Gloucester Rugby Beach Weekender.

Young Ambassador Award

Presented by Wayne Morris, Premiership Rugby and Kane Palma- Newport, Bath Rugby


  • Jake Britton, Bath Rugby
  • Odin Quinn, Sale Sharks
  • Carter Moran, Wasps

Awarded to Jake Britton for demonstrating commitment to the programme, despite family issues, dropping out of college and long journies back and forth to The Rec, to become a natural leader to his peers.

Best Rugby Performer Award

Presented by Scott Dicken, Marketing Director at Jaguar Land Rover and Jason Robinson, former Sale Sharks player and Land Rover Ambassador


  • Callum Currey, Exeter Chiefs
  • Taylor Griffiths, Harlequins
  • Milton Kachecha, Saints

Awarded to Milton Kachecha for his dedication to rugby, helping his colts team at Old Northamptonians to win the Alliance Cup at Franklin’s Garden.

HITZ Champion Award

Presented by Richard Loat, Comic Relief and Maxine Edwards, former England Captain


  • Aaron Phelps-Naqi, Sale Sharks
  • Jonti Johnson, Bath Rugby
  • Beth Robson, Worcester Warriors

Awarded to Aaron Phelps-Naqi for his contributions to the Sale Sharks HITZ Programme.

Young Achiever Award

Presented by Mark McCafferty, Premiership Rugby CEO and Kearnan Myall, Wasps


  • Tom Phillips, Gloucester Rugby
  • Charlie Hobbs, Harlequins
  • Jason Kitchin, Wasps

Awarded to Jason Kitchin for overcoming barriers to education and using the HITZ Programme to turn himself around and as an opportunity to push forwards towards his goals of becoming a Youth Worker.